About Eastern Kentucky University

Eastern Kentucky University was founded in 1906. One hundred years later the institution has become a university offering 168 degree programs and educating more than 15,000 students each year. Despite its size, the university maintains a student to faculty ratio of 17 to 1, encouraging small class sizes that place a strong emphasis on the success of each and every student. Professors take a vested interest in students, giving them the personal attention throughout their education that leads to the professional success they experience as part of their futures.

The College of Justice and Safety is a recognized leader in the degree areas it houses. It offers programs in emergency management, safety, fire science, corrections, juvenile justice and homeland security. The state of Kentucky has chosen The College of Justice and Safety as a Program of Distinction, further recognizing it as a source for expertise in these fields. Its renowned faculty members are leaders in their field with a vested interest not only in student success but also in the advancement of their chosen professional area. They work closely with justice and safety agencies to set national and international policies.